So this is my first posting as a blogger. I’ve attempted to blog in the past – but found that I lost interest quite quickly. Not sure what makes this time any different – but here goes another try…

A little bit about myself…

I am a 27 year old mother of three boys. I started out young in some people’s opinion. My husband (Keith) and I, got married when I was 20 and he was 25. My brother (the only one I have) thought I was crazy for getting married so young and so quickly. I had only known Keith two weeks before we got engaged and we married in the Mesa, AZ, LDS temple three months later. Given, after we got married there were times that I had wondered if we had moved too fast – but over the years, I am quite glad I did because I wouldn’t be the person I am today without my wonderful, loving husband beside me or our three beautiful boys.

We had our oldest son 6 years ago last month. Our middle child 2 and a half years ago last February. And we just welcomed our third and last boy July 20th. To say the least, our house is a little chaotic. Between the two older boys and our little long-haired doxin, it’s hard to get any chores done – but what gets and stays dirty, we make up for in fun times and laughter.

Being a mom who also works full time is a bit of a challenge. I have to balance my work life and my personal life. Trying to make sure kids get to school and picked up. Homework gets done. Dinner gets made. Chores actually get done.. instead of put off for another day (still working to master this one). Bath’s made, teeth’s brushed, prayers said, bedtimes…. the list goes on and on. And that’s all before I can even have time to focus on me. Or have time for me and my husband. But it’s still a work in progress and I’m learning as I go here. As hard as it is for me to admit that I am not a perfect parent and that I don’t have all the answers – I read articles and ask advise from others as to how to become a better mother. I want the best for my children and that only come in time and experience and help. (Again, still working to master this one…)

A little bit more about us – we are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. (Or LDS for short). We are also known as Mormons, but prefer the term ‘LDS.’ Both my husband and I were born and raised in the church. He served a full time mission to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida and as I said above, we were married for time and all eternity in the Mesa, AZ temple in Sept. 2005. There are many people out there who think that LDS people practice polygamy and the men all have 10 wives, etc… but that is not who we are. We do not practice polygamy because our church believe’s in obeying the laws of the land and it is against the law to practice polygamy.

Due to Gov. Mitt Romney, who is LDS – there have been many questions come up about his religion, what he personally believes and how this will effect the country if he was elected to be president. There are some who fear what they do not know and they don’t know what happens in the temples and there are those who jump to conclusion and don’t ask questions from those who belong to this church about what we believe in. We believe the temples are a place of holiness. A place were we make forever families. We do get married in the temple and believe that we are not only married for time while on earth, but for all eternity after this life in heaven.

A little bit more of a explanation of what we believe in and who we are:

http://www.lds.org/pages/mormon-messages?lang=eng#a-book-of-mormon-story

I am not perfect. I strive for perfection – but I am not, nor will I ever be perfect. But something that one of the apostles of our church: Elder Russel M. Nelson stated, “…perfection does not come in this life, but in the next…” (Please see link below to view Elder Russel M. Nelson’s message.) I am constantly striving to be a better person, better mother, better wife, better neighbor, better sister, etc.. I know that I will always be making mistakes, but it is from those mistakes that I can learn from and become better and hopefully not make those again.

http://www.lds.org/pages/mormon-messages?lang=eng#mens-hearts-shall-fail-them

In this blog, I hope to put to record the joy and sorrows of life, ups and downs, my strengths and weaknesses and hopefully come out a better person at the end of all this.

 

OTHER BLOGS/CONTACTS: 

dsjpurdy99.wordpress.com

dailyinspirationsforjpurdy99.blogspot.com

twitter.com/jpurdy99

jpurdy99@gmail.com

